Desrie Campbell announces for Fremont School Board

9 Jul

Fremont School board member Bryan Gebhardt announced a few months ago that he will not be seeking reelection to the Fremont School Board in November, 2012. It is also speculated that Ivy Wu may not run for reelection in November. This would open up one, perhaps two, open seats on the school board.

Desrie Campbell announced yesterday that she is running for Fremont School Board this November. Here is an excerpt from her announcement:

Today I am announcing the kickoff of my campaign for Fremont Unified School District Board of Education, and I hope you will join me. The City of Fremont is fortunate to have some of the best schools in the Bay Area. However, Fremont is seeing, as is much of California, a noticeable decline in funding which impacts the district’s ability to provide help to students at all levels.

I am running for office to be an advocate for our students. With less and less funding coming from Sacramento, I will continue to partner with Foundations, the City, FUSD and the community to seek creative ways of raising money. I will work for all students to help them achieve at all levels of academics. This will require that our students have the best learning environment and state-of-the-art facilities that are both clean and safe.

I am a qualified and effective leader and a public servant. I maintain a passion for students and for learning which I am eager to put to use on behalf of the School District. A few of my qualifications and experiences are:

President of Fremont Education Foundation
Member of the Citizen’s Bond Oversight Committee for Fremont Unified School District
City of Fremont Human Relations Commissioner
Past Chair of the Fremont Education Foundation Gala
(helped raised over $25,000 for teacher grants)
Former Chair of the Alameda County Commission on the Status of Women
Former Board Member for the Fremont Family Resource Center
In the months to come, I look forward to meeting you to share more with you about my campaign, and to see how together we can help our children achieve and be the very best they can be. My sincerest thanks to you for helping to give our children a voice in these challenging educational times!

Sincerely,

Desrie Campbell
Candidate for Fremont School Board

Leave a Reply

